top of page

Camping Stove Drama

Woah, that was intense.

Yeah, I was kind of putting off the camping stove towards the end of the preparation period, as I was absolutely unsure how to handle this. Because, to be honest, I do not know first thing about camping stoves.

This mofo.

At first, I heard rumours from various travellers and trekkers that you should buy the gas stove at home where it is a little bit cheaper (a gas stove is that iron thing in the upper part of the thingy in the picture above). Then, you should get the fuel tank in Iceland (if you are flying like me, you will not be permitted to have the tank in your luggage, because it is pressured gas).

Get. Not buy.

Cause apparently, Reykjavík is a heaven for those who need fuel tanks. "They are everywhere," people said, "lying about on benches, in camps, etc."

Laugardalur Campsite in Reykjavík

Well, I wasn´t sure so I checked various TripAdvisor discussions, and outdoor shops in the capital. This is what I found out:

1. There is a place called Laugardalur Campsite in Reykjavík, where used fuel tanks might be found.

2. If closed, I should apparently look for a famous outdoor shop in Reykjavík called Ellingsen.

3. I am arriving to Reykjavík on early Sunday morning, and I found out that Ellingsen is not open on Sundays. So, I asked the kind people at the shop via Facebook, if there is any other option for buying fuel tanks. They recommended checking "N1 on Hringbraut", which I found out is a petrol station that offers fuel tanks as well!

So, there´s that. I am checking now, which fuel tanks they have and I will buy a gas stove compatible with those. Wish me luck!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Zatím žádné štítky
bottom of page