top of page

Babí Lom Lookout Tower (Solo)


When I was a child, I used to look from the windows of our house towards the mountains surrounding my hometown, Košice (Slovakia). I was reading Hobbit in that time, so I imagined how great it would be to just pack a backpack, find a walking staff and set out, not telling anybody where I am off to.

This image gave me a sense of euphoric freedom. Last weekend, I did it. Perhaps for a first time in my life. I set my phone to an airplane mode (right after texting my beau and parents that I am switching it off, cause I don´t want them to be afraid for me), packed a backpack, put on my hiking gear and just started walking.

It was amazing!

My goal was Babí Lom lookout tower, which is a must see for every citizen of Brno. I heard about it before, but never even Googled it. I went to Brno main station and took a train to Kuřim, then set out walking towards the tower.

I LOVE coniferous forests! I love that when you stamp on the ground in such a place, it has a hollow sound. I love the intimate atmosphere under these trees caused by the shade they cast. In this picture, I look quite sad, but actually, I felt peaceful. Because, I guess, these coniferous trees make me such.

As I was rising from the fields and greenwoods to the confierous forests and higher still, the nature begun to change. Suddenly, the wood just…disappeared. And there it was. The rocks. Big grey rocks covered in moss, and so beautiful. It actually reminded me of Iceland a bit.

Had a little lunch there on the rocks, and begun my retreat soon afterwards. But let me tell you two things:

1. Being in nature alone is something I was always kinda afraid of (and don´t even get me started on nights in nature). It is, however, very soothing and I am SO doing it again.

2. If you live in Brno, please just go see the lookout tower. You won´t regret the hike!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Zatím žádné štítky
bottom of page