top of page

Velká Baba (Big…Woman?)

LOL, shouldn´t have translated it. Velká Baba is a hill in the norhtern part of Brno where both gentry and simple folk used to go to walks in 19th century. Today, it is still popular as a very nice walk/trip for Brno citizens.

On Saturday, it was sunny and bright and I was literally drawn outside by the sunrays. I begun my long walk up north. I chose to walk it all from my very flat to Ivanovice, which is a nice little peaceful village (read: suburb).

I am very fond of the northern part of Brno as there is a nice little airport for gliders where a couple of my friends and I like to go sometimes. We go there in the summer, have a raspberry pop and look at how the gliders are drawn up by loud winches. They take off so smoothly and elegantly!

I passed this place on Saturday, observing three large birds of prey through my new binoculars. The birds were fighting over the best spot to circle in and watch the prey on the ground. They attacked each other while gliding through the air and witch each attack, the two birds fell for a split second before resuming their balance in the air. It was a stunning dance.

After some time, I came to really appreciate my new hiking boots. There was just so much mud everywhere. I tried to step on a piece of ground that seemed rather firm. Well…as you can see in the pics below, it was anything but firm. But I had fun :)

When I got to the top of the Velká Baba hill, there was something there I had not seen in a very long time. A registration book! I was so excited, I opened the box and found a simple notebook and a pencil, both wrapped in a plastic bag so they would not get wet.

I left a message there saying that I am training for my Iceland adventure and that I walked all the way from my flat :) I was kinda proud of myself for that walk. I also left a chewing gum for the next person that opens the box.

During the walk, I tried a new thing: I tried to chill out in the forest for a few minutes. I stepped off the path, sat on a tree branch, grabbed my book (Wild by Cheryl Strayed) and read a few pages. The forest always calms me down. Which is a great deal, because I am – I have aways been – kind of hyperactive and loud, and it really is relaxing when I shut up for a minute.

Sorry for potato!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Zatím žádné štítky
bottom of page